Skip to content

Uprising… or, the trouble with themes

January 21, 2014

I try and choose a theme to start every new year with. It acts as a guide and reminder of what I have set for myself. 

I decided that 2014 is the year of… 

Uprising 

It was so beautiful, so poetic. A slow murmuring rebellion building up to a magnificent crescendo. I had applied for a training post in the speciality I work in and absolutely adore. Jetting abroad to present at an international conference and spend two weeks in the sun with a friend. The new guy in my life and I were exchanging pleasant, flirtatious messages. Uprising fitted beautifully, the sense of optimism I had for the new year was palpable before it had even started. 

Then it all went to shit. 

I didn’t get the job, thus having to wait a year before I can apply again. The conference thing fell through. The guy I was due to meet with threw some crumbs my way when what I needed was a loaf. 

I’ll cover the devastation and what it means some other time. 

Man, dog, sunset

One of my colleagues said, “Fuck ’em. And rise like the phoenix” 

Uprising – losing what was never mine to begin with, starting at ground level right in the dirt, with nothing but blood, tears and gritted teeth. And now. Now it begins. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

