Skip to content

26

May 14, 2010

It’s my birthday this Monday and I’ll confess, I used to have an issue about turning 26. It’s nothing to do with being closer to 30 – though I admit it used to – it’s the age my father was when he died. If I spend long enough thinking about it, I freak out a little ever so slightly; I have been alive for the same chunk of time that he was (I once did a morbid calculation to match up the exact time period in months and days) and because I was too young to have any memories of him, I used to fall into a trap of comparing my life so far to his, and then beating myself up for not achieving the same things he did.

I’m much more relaxed about it now and I don’t have a burning desire to commemorate the year ahead as I used to. It took me a long time to realise that I can’t live a life to silently honour someone who is gone, it somehow shifts the emphasis from your own life and death is usually a good lesson in knowing that life is important.

So instead, my only aim for the coming year is to enjoy it as much as possible. So far, so good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

