Skip to content

What is a year?

May 10, 2010

No-fail whale

The night I booked my first ever one-way ticket, I think I must have had about 4 hours sleep. After the initial excitement wore off, the stresses started to kick in: ‘WTF am I doing, where will I live, will I have a medical job, what if I hate it? ‘ It would then evolve into, ‘Why am I worrying about this, I should be concentrating on my finals,’ and once settled at my desk, thoughts of emigrating would pop up again.

I certainly have done myself no favours in deciding to take on some life experiences akin to hitting myself in the face with a skillet (a friend of mine has the edge – he’s getting married the week finals finish) but what is a year? And why should I continue burying myself in a cocoon – despite the financial security and career progression I would get by staying – I know it would be wrong. I could be unemployed, but I could have some short-term adventures and see what I’m capable of by throwing myself into a different part of the world with very little comfort and protection. This is where I could type a description with light masochism thrown in, but in truth, while I’m scared, I know deep down there’s a tiny portion in me where I know I am capable of this.

And I have many good friends on speed-dial in the wrong time-zones to help me through the inevitable freak outs. Until then, I will continue to look at one of my snaps from the south island.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Donna permalink
    May 23, 2010 6:11 am

    I came across you from ‘enjoying the small things’ blog, and take it you’re coming to New Zealand for a while? If I haven’t completely misread you (lol!), Kia Ora (welcome)!!!! I’ve lived here all my life, and love it… although we can always do with more medical people. Are you going to the South Island? Gotta go and tend to my yelling baby…

    • May 23, 2010 12:25 pm

      Hi Donna!

      Thanks for stopping by, you’re indeed correct, I’m coming to NZ! For how long, I’m unsure, it depends on the work situation, but I’ve been once before and absolutely fell in love with the place and people, I can’t wait to go back!

      I’m flying into the North Island and plan on staying there for a bit, but my time in the South was limited so I intend on doing some exploring there and hopefully brush up on my photography.

      🙂

Leave a Reply

