Skip to content

Risk assessment

March 11, 2010

So the wheels are in motion and enquiries are occurring on my behalf. The agency has been realistic about me getting a job out there: it will be tough and a number of odds are against me, but the situation is not entirely impossible. The cycle for new doctors in NZ starts in November (as opposed to August in the UK) and I will not know if there are spaces available until August (when I’m due to start work here). This could mean taking a leap of faith and withdrawing from the programme without knowing if I have employment on the other side. Meep!

Having weighed it up and looked at things in context, I feel it’s more important for me to go out there than to have a job here. It’s a huge risk and perhaps I shouldn’t take such a flippant attitude towards my career but hey, this blog isn’t exactly called 3yearsofbeingverysensible! It has made me think about what I could potentially do in terms of furthering my education should I not immediately find work. There are a number of things I would like, the list isn’t finite, but such things include: training as a masseuse, doing a creative writing/journalism course, tutoring, charity work etc.

I am dipping my toes into the medical waters of the kiwi world in the hope that something will bite. If not, I’ll be sharpening my teeth.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 15, 2012 1:49 am

    But the young mechanic said with confidence in the roughest Kiwi dialect, that he could try to hammer out again the wheel.

Leave a Reply

