Skip to content

Shaping my way

February 28, 2010

Medical school is a long slog, 5 or 6 years is a long commitment compared with deciding on coffee, but it’s juxtaposed with the fact that it races by because of disjointed way it’s set out. Not so much the pre-clincial years when most learning is confined to the same building or campus, and less so during the BSc year if that’s offered. Clinical medicine is a different story. Placements can last anywhere between 4 to 12 weeks, during which time you may rotate between different departments and consultants. By the time you get used to the environment, forming friendships with colleagues you haven’t met before, it’s time to change and it’s frustrating because it’s one of the most important times during training, yet you get no time to get used to a place and there’s little scope to take a step back and gain insight into the kind of doctor you’re potentially evolving into. Add in having to learn a huge volume of work, getting various forms signed and acknowledging the steep learning curve that is clinical medicine, by the time all that’s done, it’s time for finals. Perhaps they designed it that way, dangerous things happen when doctors start to think 😉

I freely admit I didn’t make most of my time in those years. I allowed myself to get distracted with mental health blips and relationships, my final year has been the only chance to take a step back and quietly contemplate my future and the kind of doctor I’m going to become. Only now, I’m trying to plan a move to the other side of the planet while focusing on my finals which are in 3 months. Maybe I should stop being so introspective and throw myself into the noise, because I have plenty of time to learn on the job. Where the hell is that job going to be? The laughing buddha on my little meditation table must be in hysterics.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

